Classical Conversations Cycle 2 Week 1 Lesson Guide

I can’t believe how fast this summer has gone by! I feel like we just finished up cycle 1 and here it is time to start preparing for cycle 2. This first week looks like a great starting week and I was so excited to find some really good YouTube supplements. I hope you will enjoy them as much as I do. Here is my lesson guide for week 1. Have a blessed week!

Medieval PeriodWhat is the Medieval Period?
The Medieval Period, also called the Middle Ages, lasted from the 5th to the 15th Century. It marks a period of time where barbarian invasions formed new kingdoms in the Western Roman Empire. Other notable events in history during this time include Justinians Code, creation of political structure (knights, nobles, and peasants), and the Holy Wars. The late Middle Ages are the darkest of the era. It is known for its diminished population from the plague (black death), famine and war.

Pope_Leo_IIIWho is Pope Leo III?
Pope Leo III was the head of the Catholic Church from 795 to 816. He is mostly known for crowning King Charlemagne Holy Roman Emperor. Pope Leo also contributed to the beautification of Rome, helped restore King Eardwulf of Northunmbria and settled disputes between Archbishops of York and Canterbury.


CharlemagneWho is Charlemagne?
Charlemagne, also known as Charles the Great, was King of the Franks, King of Italy, and the first Holy Roman Emperor in Western Europe since the collapse of the Western Roman Empire. Charlemagne was also called the “Father of Europe” and his empire united most of Western Europe. His rule spurred the Carolingian Renaissance, a period of cultural and intellectual activity within the Catholic Church. After Charlemagne ruled as Emperor for thirteen years he died in 814.

Holy Roman Empire 800 adWhat is the Holy Roman Emperor?
The Holy Roman Emperor is the ruler of the Holy Roman Empire. It’s a position that must be crowned by the Pope before the title is official.



Science: 7 Types of Biomes
Biome: a complex biotic community characterized by distinctive plant and animal species and maintained under the climatic conditions of the region, especially such a community that has developed to climax. ( Basically a biome is defined by its similar climate, animals, and vegetation.

7 Biomes

Grasslands – located in the US, Russia, Africa, South America, and China. The temperature ranges from -40°F in the winter to 70°F in the summer. The vegetation is dominated by grass. The grass ranges from short to very tall grass. Animals that live in the grassland include the zebra, bison, elephant, etc.

Deserts – located in the dry plains of the earth, such as the US, Africa, Iran, etc. It is very hot and dry and has little vegetation. Some plants such as the Cactus adapt to the climate and survive during the very dry spells. The desert also has some animals such as snakes, kangaroo rats, lizards, etc. either burrow in the ground or their bodies store water in a special way to help them survive.

Scrublands – located throughout the middle of India, Africa, Northern Australia, and Brazil. The temperature is around 20°C and 30°C year round. The plantation is mostly scrubs and trees that have found ways to survive when water is not available. Animals in the scrublands include Kangaroos, elephants, etc.

Tundra – located in the artic zone and includes countries such as the US, Alaska, Greenland, etc. The temperature ranges from -40°C in the winter and 15°C in the summer. It has some plant life such as the artic moss that grows in the water and animals such as the polar bear that have thick skin that keeps them warm.

Deciduous Forests – Located at the mid-latitude of the earth and includes countries such as Eastern US, Western Europe, and Japan. The forest receives all four seasons and its temperature ranges from 30°C in the summer to -20°C in the winter. The forest is filled with beautiful trees and plant life that shed its leaves and decomposes into nutrients creating a very fertile ground. It is also the home to many forest animals such as squirrels, birds, deer, etc.

Coniferous Forests – also called taiga, is located in the sub artic zone and include countries such as Russia, Canada, Scandinavia, etc. Its temperature ranges from -20°C in the winter and 30°C in the summer. This forest includes many mountains, evergreen trees, paperbirch, etc. Animals in the coniferous forest must withstand both very cold weather and warm weather. These animals include the Gray Wolf and Bobcat.

Tropical Rain Forests – located near the equator in the tropics and includes countries such as Brazil, Ecuador, Columbia, etc. The rainforest rains year round and its temperature ranges from 20°C to 30°C year round. The rainforest houses many beautiful plant and animal life. There is usually very little room for plants so they adapt and grow around each other. Animal life in the rainforest includes sloths, lizards, bugs, etc.

English Grammar: 8 Parts of Speech

Math: 1&2 skip counting

Geography: Continents / Oceans

How to draw world “Blob Map”

Latin: 1st Conjugation Endings Present Tense
Match up game


Leave a Reply